THERE IS NO MOMENT IN LIFE THAT CAN’T BE IMPROVED WITH PIZZA. – Daria

It is with a heavy heart that I share the death of a Yuppie Hobo follower. There are so very few but he was one of the best. I can’t convey the amount of respect I hold for this gentleman in a blog post but I’ll give it my best. He raised one of my favorite people, Dr. Jen, and that’s one hell of an achievement. In fact all of his kids are successful and just good humans. Being around his family is always comforting and warm.

“Roos” was a tall guy. Like super tall. And he had a deep kind of booming voice. As a scrawny 5’8 guy with a soft voice, he was a bit intimidating to me. Aren’t all guys intimidated by their girlfriend’s dad at first? He also worked as a union leader which I assumed meant he killed Hoffa. Turns out I was wrong. As his obit says “He was admired by all, looked up to by most, and feared by none.” The moment I knew he was a sweet guy was when I was leaving their house for the first time. Rather than say goodbye to Dr. J, he said “Au Revoir, Simone” and she responded “Au Revoir, Pee Wee.” I couldn’t believe that this giant with this rumbling voice said that to his daughter. He was officially okay in my book.

“Roos” had a much bigger internet following than I ever will. Like me, he enjoyed traveling for non-traditional/themed reasons. Every Friday him and the Mrs. would drive to a different pizza place. This has gone on for years and we’re talking hundreds of slices at hundreds of restaurants. Comments all over social media have been flooding in about how much people will miss his Pizza Friday posts. No one had an unkind thing to say about this man. We should all aspire to be as kindhearted as he was.

He loved music, trivia, his family, and pizza. I love all of those things too. I wish I had the chance to know him better. I’m looking forward to Pizza Friday with him in Heaven where the toppings are always fresh and the cheese goes all the way up to the crust.

In lieu of flowers and prayers, please have a pizza with your friends and family this and every Pizza Friday.

Forty Adventures #9A – January

For my January adventure I spent the end of 2019 through the first week of January touring the Pacific Northwest. This trip was a fall back into the theme of “tourist traps, tacky gift shops, and Americana.” It’s good to get back to my roots of Fiji mermaids and America’s largest crap that no one asked for. I stayed at my first AirBnBs on this trip, got my first rental car in over a year, and got dozens of smashed pennies. This trip was a big success and you will be getting 8 straight days of posts covering it. Lucky you!

Continue reading “Forty Adventures #9A – January”

I was reading the dictionary. I thought it was a poem about everything. – SW

Capture.PNG

Awesome!
Yuppie:
noun, ( often initial capital letter)
1. a young, ambitious, and well-educated city-dweller who has a professional career and an affluent lifestyle.
Hobo:
noun, plural hobos, hoboes.
1. a tramp or vagrant.
2. a migratory worker.
Yuppie Hobo:
noun
1. an over educated idiot who spends too much time and money seeing and doing stupid and childish things.
2. a smashed penny collector, probably has fleas.

Feel free to leave your own Yuppie Hobo definition below.

Henceforward they had to satisfy their aesthetic longings with his one whisker, his transparent eye, and his movable teeth. – HRH

Explorer Highlight: Allan Quatermain –  I read my first book for pleasure in quite someq time. Maybe a year? Maybe longer. During my grad program all I read were boring finance, econ, and leadership books. I forgot how great reading can be. For my first book I picked the 1885 novel “King Solomon’s Mines” by H. Rider Haggard. While it’s not a road trip book in the vein of “On the Road” or “Travels with Charlie”, it does involve a road that’s essential to the story and a handful of travelers looking for adventure. I think it’s appropriate enough to discuss in this blog.

Continue reading “Henceforward they had to satisfy their aesthetic longings with his one whisker, his transparent eye, and his movable teeth. – HRH”