giphy

More love for this guy! There are two bloggers I read with religious fervency. One reminds me of my best friend growing up and talks about the pop culture that was important to me from the early 80s to the early 90s. The other actually elevates me and is a solid read that should be interesting to anyone. The cool part? This second blogger gave me a shout out in one of her recent posts!

The Questing Geek covers “both kinds of hobbies; geeky and nerdy.” Queen Geek Kathy covers books, movies, TV shows, gift ideas, games, etc. It’s chic to say you’re nerdy these days, but Kathy is an OG legit nerd. For flipping sake, the name of her blog is a reference to a chimera-esque monster from Arthurian legend and she was in an article of Mental Floss! Go read her blog and watch your “to read” and “to watch” list grow. You would thank me later for turning you on to her blog but you’ll be too busy reading all of the books she recommends.

Why are you still reading this post? Go to her blog and catch up! She blogs with much more frequency than I do. The more time you waste the further behind you’re going to get.

Kathy, if you’re ever in Delaware on a Thursday night, you and your geeky knowledge are always welcome at my Quizzo team’s table!

The world is a book, and those who don’t travel only read one page. – SA

Before my trip, I loaded up on 6 audio books (also this one). Between hours of music and CB radio chatter, I took a few breaks and listened to 4 of them. I lost Billy Crystal’s book under the passenger seat and forgot it was there until I unpacked. As for “Heaven is For Real,” I really tried to get into but it wouldn’t take. All the books I packed are considered non-fiction, and “Heaven…” is about a boy who comes back from a surgery having seen Heaven. The book starts off with an interview of the dad and he just couldn’t sell me. Anyway here are brief reviews of the books I did listen to!

Continue reading “The world is a book, and those who don’t travel only read one page. – SA”

Henceforward they had to satisfy their aesthetic longings with his one whisker, his transparent eye, and his movable teeth. – HRH

Explorer Highlight: Allan Quatermain –  I read my first book for pleasure in quite someq time. Maybe a year? Maybe longer. During my grad program all I read were boring finance, econ, and leadership books. I forgot how great reading can be. For my first book I picked the 1885 novel “King Solomon’s Mines” by H. Rider Haggard. While it’s not a road trip book in the vein of “On the Road” or “Travels with Charlie”, it does involve a road that’s essential to the story and a handful of travelers looking for adventure. I think it’s appropriate enough to discuss in this blog.

Continue reading “Henceforward they had to satisfy their aesthetic longings with his one whisker, his transparent eye, and his movable teeth. – HRH”