I think this means you’re a unicorn. – SA

Today I’m not feeling well. All week I’ve been a little lethargic and didn’t sleep well last night. There was also a bit of bad news with my family yesterday. This post is going to help me change my perspective, keep kicking up my blog game, and share a few things. Please watch Shawn Anchor’s 12 minute TED talk embedded below. I’m using his idea that I need to focus on the good to pep up and get back on track.

News to share:

  • Reserved and paid for my rental car yesterday.
  • Printed out and organized all of my hotel confirmations for my trapper keeper.
  • Finished the agendas for the first 6 days of my trip.
  • Purchased a Deflecto Early Warning Road Safety Triangle 3-pack.
  • Purchased a sun shade for the windshield. I’ve never used one before but I also don’t remember ever getting into a car that’s been sitting in the New Mexico summer sun. I hope it helps keep my hands from bursting into flames when I touch the steering wheel.
  • Made my last change to the trip. I substituted a diner I was going to check out with another tourist trap. It’s too close to the trip to make any further revisions. The schedule is in ink, so to speak.

This is all great news and has given me a boost in energy just typing it! Now please watch Shawn’s TED Talk. If you don’t laugh or smile at least once at his jokes I will send you 10 smashed pennies and a jar of fancy mustard from my trip. Promise.

Good bad taste is celebrating something without thinking you’re better than it…bad bad taste is condescending, making fun of others. – JW

I hope this blog doesn’t come across as critical of some of the things I’ve seen and will see. People think the Mystery Hole and House are silly (and they are) but these are the places I live for. I love John Waters’ quote at the top of this post; these are places I celebrate. I don’t want people to think I’m laughing at these unusual places, I’m enjoying them for what they are. My blog header mentions tourist traps and tacky gift shops but I don’t want to come off glib. I’m spending a lot of time and money to see these places. I respect them and the people who run them.

I got great news today and that’s why I’m clarifying my views of my destinations. A gentleman I contacted has a personal museum of nostalgic items in his house. It appears to be his passion and life’s work. Today he responded to me in a friendly manner inviting me to visit his museum/house. I am extremely grateful for his invitation and would be mortified if anyone thought I was going there to make fun of him or have a laugh at his expense. I feel his collection isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I’m excited to see it and meet this warm, talented, and interesting man! I’m sure I will enjoy the tour and hopefully come away having made a new friend.

Be present, not just think about what’s going on next week, next month. – MD

index

Screw you and your above quote, Mike Dirnt! You have no clue what you’re talking about. For the first time the countdown widget on the side of my blog is measuring time in days and not months! By this time 30-days from now, I will be settling into my first motel room and composing my first update so you readers can find out what stupid things I’ve done and seen on day one of the trip. Don’t worry though, there will be posts coming before that. I still have so much prep work to do!

What we get from this adventure is just sheer joy, and joy, after all, is the end of life. – GLM

To finish George Mallory’s quote above, “We don’t live to eat and make money. We eat and make money to be able to enjoy life. That is what life means, and that is what life is for.” Below I’m sharing another TED Talk I found. It’s given by Ben Saunders (more about him below) and it was exactly what I needed to hear right now. Lately I’ve been struggling a little with the reason for my trip as well as some of the other “adventures” I get up to. I no longer have any questions.

Continue reading “What we get from this adventure is just sheer joy, and joy, after all, is the end of life. – GLM”

Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read. – GM

Based on my maps and spreadsheets, I will be driving over 124 hours. That’s only driving from destination to destination. It does not include pulling off highways for food and gas, detours, or any driving I do my 5 “days off.” I have several playlists on my phone and loads of CDs. I have a 9+ hour 90’s playlist, a 9+ hour 80’s playlist, and I’m working on a classic rock playlist that will hopefully be around the same length. I’m going to need more entertainment than that.

Continue reading “Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read. – GM”

Henceforward they had to satisfy their aesthetic longings with his one whisker, his transparent eye, and his movable teeth. – HRH

Explorer Highlight: Allan Quatermain –  I read my first book for pleasure in quite someq time. Maybe a year? Maybe longer. During my grad program all I read were boring finance, econ, and leadership books. I forgot how great reading can be. For my first book I picked the 1885 novel “King Solomon’s Mines” by H. Rider Haggard. While it’s not a road trip book in the vein of “On the Road” or “Travels with Charlie”, it does involve a road that’s essential to the story and a handful of travelers looking for adventure. I think it’s appropriate enough to discuss in this blog.

Continue reading “Henceforward they had to satisfy their aesthetic longings with his one whisker, his transparent eye, and his movable teeth. – HRH”